Research Laboratory of Metabolic Diseases and Microbiota

Head of Laboratory: Polina Popova, MD, PhD.

Tasks

To implement the joint projects to develop personalized microbial therapy for metabolic and immune-dependent diseases, study the microbiota in metabolic disorders and the effect of a new coronavirus infection, diabetes mellitus and their combination on pregnancy outcomes.

Focus areas

  • Participating in the development of new methods for the use of autoprobiotics for the treatment of metabolic and immune-dependent diseases (together with the Institute of Experimental Medicine).

  • Creating models for predicting postprandial glycemic response (based on microbiome, nutrition, genotype, history and anthropometric data) and developing a personalized diet therapy system for the treatment and prevention of type 2 diabetes mellitus.

  • Studying the effect of various components of microbiotic communities on the development of carbohydrate metabolism disorders (prediabetes, type 2 diabetes mellitus and gestational diabetes) and systemic inflammation.

  • Studying the pathogenetic mechanisms of cardiovascular disease in patients with metabolic disorders (including microbiome changes and molecular genetic aspects) and developing methods for their prevention.

  • Studying the factors that determine the mechanisms of interaction between diabetes mellitus and coronavirus infection COVID-19 during pregnancy and affect its adverse outcomes.

Project description

The specialists of the Laboratory are involved in the following projects:

  • "In-depth analysis of genotype-phenotype correlations and identifying new potential areas for the prevention of chronic non-communicable diseases of polygenic origin in order to create personalized preventive programs"

  • Personalized microbial therapy as an approach to the management of medical conditions (metabolic syndrome and type 2 diabetes) (jointly with the Institute of Experimental Medicine)

Specialists

  • Polina Popova, MD, PhD, Head of Laboratory

  • Ekaterina Kolesova, Senior Researcher

  • Maria Kokina, Junior Researcher

  • Anna Anopova, Junior Researcher

  • Artem Isakov, Research Assistant

  • Eleonora Pivsaeva, Research Assistant

Newly developed and implemented technologies

"A method for predicting the effectiveness of treatment improving insulin sensitivity in patients with polycystic ovary syndrome" (Permit to use the new medical technology from the Federal Service for Surveillance in Healthcare FS No. 2010/442 dated 31.12.2010).

Major publications

Contacts

Polina Popova, Head of the Laboratory
e-mail: popova_pv@almazovcentre.ru

НИЛ метаболических заболеваний и микробиоты

Заведующий лабораторией — к.м.н. Попова Полина Викторовна.

Задачи

Реализация совместных проектов по разработке персонифицированной микробной терапии метаболических и иммунозависимых заболеваний, изучению микробиоты при метаболических нарушениях и изучению влияния новой коронавирусной инфекции, сахарного диабета и их сочетания на исходы беременности.

Направления работы

  • Участие в разработке новой методологии использования аутопробиотиков для лечения метаболических и иммунозависимых заболеваний (совместно с Институтом экспериментальной медицины).
  • Создание моделей прогнозирования постпрандиального гликемического ответа (с учетом данных микробиома, питания, генотипа, анамнеза и антропометрических данных) и разработка системы персонализированной диетотерапии для лечения и профилактики сахарного диабета 2 типа.
  • Изучение вклада различных представителей микробиотических сообществ в развитие нарушений углеводного обмена (предиабета, сахарного диабета 2 типа и гестационного сахарного диабета) и системного воспаления.
  • Изучение патогенетических механизмов формирования сердечно-сосудистой патологии у пациентов с метаболическими заболеваниями (включая изменения микробиома и молекулярно-генетические аспекты) и разработка способов их профилактики.
  • Изучение факторов, определяющих механизмы взаимодействия сахарного диабета и коронавирусной инфекции COVID-19 во время беременности, влияющих на ее неблагоприятные исходы.

Описание проекта

Сотрудники НИЛ метаболических заболеваний и микробиоты участвуют в реализации следующих проектов:

  • «Углубленный анализ генотип-фенотипических корреляций и выявление новых потенциальных направлений профилактики хронических неинфекционных заболеваний полигенной природы с целью создания персонифицированных профилактических программ».
  • «Персонифицированная микробная терапия как подход к коррекции соматических патологий (метаболический синдром и диабет 2 типа)» (совместно с Институтом экспериментальной медицины).

Список сотрудников

Разработанные и внедренные технологии

Разрешение федеральной службы по надзору в сфере здравоохранения и социального развития на применение новой медицинской технологии ФС № 2010/442 от 31.12.2010 г. «Способ прогнозирования эффективности лечения, улучшающего чувствительность к инсулину, у больных с синдромом поликистозных яичников».

Основные публикации сотрудников

Патенты и изобретения

Контакты

Попова Полина Викторовна, заведующий НИЛ
e-mail: popova_pv@almazovcentre.ru